Sun, Feb 21 | Zoom Event

#Dominicanreaders: The New David Espinoza

Join us as we discuss February Book of the month " The New David Espinoza" by Fred Aceves
Registration is Closed
#Dominicanreaders: The New David Espinoza

Time & Location

Feb 21, 6:00 PM
Zoom Event

Details:

Support our local bookstore by ordering your copy from www.wordupbooks.com use code DWBWTS for a discount.

This own voices story from the acclaimed author of The Closest I’ve Come unflinchingly examines steroid abuse and male body dysmorphia. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Matt De La Peña. David Espinoza is tired of being messed with. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully’s slap goes viral at the end of junior year, David vows to use the summer to bulk up— do what it takes to become a man—and wow everyone when school starts again the fall. Soon David is spending all his time and money at Iron Life, a nearby gym that’s full of bodybuilders. Frustrated with his slow progress, his life eventually becomes all about his muscle gains. As it says on the Iron Life wall, What does not kill me makes me stronger.

Registration is Closed